2012-02-14 / News

Senate 20 election happens today

The Times Record


The polls are open in 22 communities today for voters in Senate District 20 to elect a new senator to complete the term of Sen. David Trahan, R-Waldoboro, who resigned from office at the end of last year.

District 20 covers 22 towns, including Alna, Westport Island and Wiscasset.

Voters will choose between Somerville Democrat Christopher K. Johnson and House District 50 Rep. Dana Dow, RWaldoboro, in today’s special election.

The new senator’s term will expire later this year. The regularly scheduled biennial election in Senate District 20, and for all seats in Maine’s Senate and House of Representatives, is scheduled for Nov. 6.

Trahan resigned after announcing in July 2011 that he’d accepted a job as executive director of the Sportsman’s Alliance of Maine, the state’s largest advocacy group for sportsmen.

Party caucuses selected Dow and Johnson to run in the special election.

Return to top